Garage floor epoxy coverage is how many square feet one kit or gallon spreads at the right film thickness. A consumer kit such as Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield covers about 250 square feet per pouch in one coat, but a rough, porous slab drinks up more and stretches that number thinner.
| What coverage means | Square feet one kit or gallon covers at the maker’s recommended film thickness. |
|---|---|
| Typical consumer kit | Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield water-based: about 250 sq ft per pouch, one coat. |
| Porosity effect | A rough, porous first coat uses more than a smooth later coat. |
| Units vary | Epoxy is often sold by the kit or pouch; polyaspartic is sold by the gallon. |
| Get your number | Enter your floor size in the garage floor coating calculator. |
Garage Floor Epoxy Coverage at a Glance
Coverage differs by product, so always read the label on the kit you buy. The table below lists figures taken from each maker’s own current technical data sheet. Each number is a manufacturer figure for that product, not a universal rule.
| Product | Coverage | Sold by | Coats | Finish and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield (water-based) | About 250 sq ft per pouch | Kit / pouch | One coat | Consumer water-based epoxy; figure assumes about 15% material loss. |
| Rust-Oleum RockSolid Polycuramine | 200 to 250 sq ft per kit | Kit / pouch | One coat | Epoxy, urethane and polyurea blend; 96% solids; coverage varies with porosity. |
| Life Specialty LD-2009 polyaspartic | 250 to 300 sq ft/gal smooth; 200 to 250 rough | Gallon kit | Topcoat | Clear polyaspartic finish; one gallon must cover at least 200 sq ft to cure. |
Behr is a common fourth option, but its garage floor coverage is not readably published on Behr’s own current data sheet, so this guide does not state a Behr number. Check Behr’s own current product label before you buy.
How Much Epoxy Do You Need for a Garage Floor?
The short answer: divide your floor area by the product’s coverage per kit, then round up to whole kits. Floor area is simply length times width in feet.
Take a two-car garage of 20 feet by 20 feet, which is 400 square feet. With EpoxyShield at 250 square feet per pouch in one coat, you need 400 divided by 250, which rounds up to 2 pouches. With RockSolid at the porous end of its range, 200 square feet per pouch, you need 400 divided by 200, which is also 2 pouches. For a polyaspartic topcoat like LD-2009 at 275 square feet per gallon on a smooth floor, 400 divided by 275 rounds up to 2 one-gallon kits.
Those planning sizes, roughly 250 square feet for a single car and 400 to 500 for a two-car bay, are rules of thumb, not maker figures. For your exact result, the garage floor coating calculator turns your measurements into kits, pouches, or gallons. The flow below shows the same three-step logic.
Why Does the Porous First Coat Use More Coating?
A porous first coat uses more because raw concrete soaks liquid into its open pores, so each gallon reaches fewer square feet. A smoother, already-sealed surface lets the next coat glide farther.
The clearest maker proof comes from the LD-2009 polyaspartic data sheet. It lists 250 to 300 square feet per gallon on a smooth surface, but only 200 to 250 square feet per gallon on a rough one. Same product, same gallon, yet the rough floor cuts the reach by up to a fifth. Rust-Oleum makes the same point in words, noting coverage may vary with the condition and porosity of the concrete.
This is why a first coat on bare, etched concrete is the thirstiest layer of the job. Plan the porous coat at the lower end of the coverage range, then expect a later coat to stretch nearer the high end. The bars below compare the two.
Kits or Per-Gallon Products: Which Should You Buy?
The short answer: consumer epoxy is usually sold as a sized kit, while clear topcoats like polyaspartic are sold by the gallon. The unit changes how you estimate, not whether the coating works.
Kit products do the sizing for you. Rust-Oleum sells EpoxyShield and RockSolid as car-sized kits, where a 1 Car Kit is one pouch and a 2.5 Car Kit is two pouches, roughly 500 square feet. You buy whole kits, so you round up to the next kit. Per-gallon products, like the LD-2009 polyaspartic, let you buy one gallon at a time, which helps on odd floor sizes. Note that LD-2009 lists a floor of 200 square feet per gallon to cure properly, so spreading it too thin can stop it from curing.
Paint-style products follow the same per-gallon math. The same spreading idea for walls and ceilings is covered in our paint coverage calculator.
How Does Epoxy Compare to Polyaspartic?
Epoxy and polyaspartic are different chemistries that both protect a garage slab. Epoxy kits are the common one-coat consumer choice, while polyaspartic is often used as a clear, fast-curing finish coat. The terms below sort out the labels you will see.
- Coverage
- The square feet one unit covers at the recommended film thickness. It falls as a floor gets rougher or more porous.
- Dry film thickness (DFT)
- How thick the coating is once cured. EpoxyShield states a recommended 3.0 to 3.5 mils per coat, and coverage is measured at that thickness.
- Solids content
- The share of the product that stays on the floor after it cures. RockSolid is listed at 96% solids, which supports a thick one-coat build.
- One-coat system
- A product designed to protect in a single application. Both EpoxyShield and RockSolid are stated as one-coat systems.
- Polyaspartic
- A fast-curing polyurea-family coating, often applied as a clear topcoat over a base. LD-2009 is a two-part polyaspartic sold in gallon kits.
- Porosity
- How open and absorbent the concrete surface is. Higher porosity means lower coverage, because the slab soaks up more coating.
Planning a wider project? Our construction calculators hub gathers the material tools, and the concrete calculator helps if you are pouring a new slab first.
What Coverage Mistakes Should You Avoid?
Most coverage misses come from treating one printed number as a promise. Coverage is a maker estimate at ideal thickness on a prepared floor, so build in room for your own conditions.
| Mistake | Better approach |
|---|---|
| Using one coverage number for every product | Read the label of the kit you buy; EpoxyShield, RockSolid, and polyaspartic all differ. |
| Planning the first coat at smooth-floor coverage | Use the low end of the range for a bare, porous slab, then expect more from later coats. |
| Borrowing a number from a retailer or forum | Trust the maker’s own current data sheet, since coverage is stated per product. |
| Spreading a per-gallon coating too thin to save money | Respect the cure minimum; LD-2009 needs at least 200 sq ft per gallon to cure. |
| Buying exactly the calculated amount | Add your own waste allowance for spills, texture, and touch-ups. |
Waste allowance is your own assumption, not a maker figure, so set it to match your floor and your comfort level.
Enter your floor length, width, and product in the garage floor coating calculator to see how many kits, pouches, or gallons your garage needs.
Questions People Ask About Garage Floor Epoxy Coverage
How many square feet does a garage floor epoxy kit cover?
It depends on the product. Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield water-based covers about 250 square feet per pouch in one coat, and RockSolid covers 200 to 250 square feet per kit, per their data sheets.
How much epoxy do I need for a two-car garage?
For a 400 square foot floor at 250 square feet per pouch, you need 2 pouches in one coat. Measure your own floor, since two-car bays range from about 400 to 500 square feet.
Does a rough concrete floor really use more coating?
Yes. The LD-2009 polyaspartic data sheet shows 250 to 300 square feet per gallon on smooth concrete but only 200 to 250 on rough. Porous surfaces soak up more coating.
Is garage floor epoxy one coat or two?
Many consumer kits are one-coat systems. Rust-Oleum lists both EpoxyShield and RockSolid as one coat. Clear polyaspartic products are often added as a separate topcoat over a base.
What coverage does Behr garage floor epoxy have?
Behr’s garage floor coverage is not readably published on Behr’s own current data sheet, so this guide does not state a figure. Check Behr’s own current product label before buying.
Where These Numbers Come From
References Used in This Article
- Rust-Oleum, Technical Data ESH-39: EpoxyShield Water-based Epoxy Garage Floor Coating (Pouch Kits), Rev. 050418
- Rust-Oleum, Technical Data RSD-10: RockSolid Garage Floor Coating Kit (Polycuramine), Rev. 080221
- Life Specialty Coatings, Technical Data Sheet LD-2009 Polyaspartic (Clear Sealers), Updated 3/25
Educational estimate, not professional construction or engineering advice. Follow the manufacturer’s current data sheet and your local building codes; waste allowance is your own assumption. Not affiliated with any brand; trademarks belong to their owners. Reviewed for accuracy by Prof. Dr. Khalil Mudassar, PhD. Last updated October 4, 2026.
Author
Shakeel Muzaffar is the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of MultiCalculators.com, bringing over 15 years of experience in digital publishing, product strategy, and online tool development. He leads the platform's editorial vision, ensuring every calculator meets strict standards for accuracy, usability, and real-world value. Shakeel personally oversees content quality, formula verification workflows, and the platform's commitment to publishing tools that are genuinely useful for students, professionals, and everyday users worldwide.




